39 weeks +2 days

Today at our appointment, my doctor checked my body’s progress and said that I am still 2cm dilated which I was one week ago, therefore no natural progression. She stripped my membranes and booked us at the hospital for delivery to have our baby girl!

Our check-in will be Friday night with the plan to deliver Saturday morning before noon.  I will still have a vaginal birth as planned (unless medically necessary to do otherwise) my body just needs a little help getting started as it did with my son.

As a planner and a ::cough, cough:: control-freak, I like the idea of knowing when she will be here.  I like knowing that my sister and brother-in-law now have a timeframe as to when they will be helping out with our son.  I love that we will have another weekend baby and as much as I love surprises, I love planning.

I do know, that she still can change the date at any moment but per the doctor … it looks like baby girl will enter our lives on January 28, 2017.

After my Husband and I left the appointment we decided to go out for lunch date -the last one before we are a family of four.  We went to Houston’s.  I had a Prime Rib French Dip with Fries followed by an amazing Apple Walnut Cobbler and a Decaf Coffee … it was amazing.

I choked up a few times at lunch, in the car, at home … now.  I sit thinking about the pregnancy as a whole.  NINE MONTHS, done.  There were days I prayed that wouldn’t end  because I felt like SheWoman.  There were days I fell to my knees and prayed that she would just come today.  I still love pregnancy & feel so blessed and privileged to be able to successfully house not one but two healthy babies. I will admit, the older you get the harder it feels.  All in all I feel very fortunate to have had another overall wonderful pregnancy.  It is bittersweet though.  We wait and wait for this day to come and then it does and the emotions flood in and forget to toss a life ring.

In TWO days (or sooner) we are going to meet the tiny little human we created. My heart is already exploding with love.

Leave a Reply

