Prenatal Yoga – Overcoming a Fear & Feeling Fantastic 

It’s amazing how doing something that makes us sometimes extremely uncomfortable can be the most comforting part of our day/life.
Today I attended my first of eight prenatal yoga classes. I enrolled in this eight week class by myself. Some of you know this, most of you don’t, I avoid a lot of social situations because I have a case of social anxiety that I allow to get the best of me more times than not. I was originally going to join because I had a friend that wanted to attend with me, the class didn’t fit her schedule so rather than backing out like I would normally do I decided to enroll anyway!

I spent the morning power cleaning my house. Cleaning is one way I deal with anxiety and also anger. Piss me off and there is a good chance I’ll do your dishes.

I created a calming blend for my diffuser of lemongrass, marjoram, and Pine. I applied White Angelica to my chest and wrists. I also added one drop of Frankincense under my tongue. I put on a pair of comfortable Lululemon yoga pants, a new sports bra, and a comfortable tank top that comforted both me and my baby bump. I sprayed my yoga mat with Tea Tree and Lavender, and my towel with Stress Away. I left my house with plenty of time to get there to get comfortable with the area. That is also another element that causes me unnecessary anxiety, foreign locations.

After arriving I was greeted by the kindest woman, Andrea. She and I conversed briefly over the phone and again via email, prior to when I enrolled. She had a very welcoming presence about her which immediately made me feel calm and comfortable.

The group was small, five women to be exact. We ranged from 11 weeks to 32 weeks. Everyone was very easy to say hello to. The class was so comforting in many ways. I overcame something that makes me uneasy & left feeling really great about myself and decision. I am already looking forward to next week’s class and also forming new relationships with the women in the class.

I really wanted to find some type of workout that would be good for me, my baby and my overall health.  I decided to try yoga out.Prenatal yoga helps reduce stress, resulting in improved maternal comfort, easier labor, and healthier babies and children, according to a systematic review of existing studies on yoga and pregnancy. So the combonation of essential oils and yoga sounded like a perfect match to me!

“Never let your fear of the unknown and things being too difficult make your choices for you in life. One of the saddest lessons in life is finding out that your fear made the situation worse than what it was and a braver person stole the dream you gave up on.” — Shannon L. Alder

I came back home in such a great mood.  My son wanted to “do the yoga too” so I showed him a few simple poses. I love that my Husband snuck these photos.

CONTACT INFO:
|| ETSY || FACEBOOK || INSTAGRAM || EMAIL || YOUNG LIVING ||

Leave a Reply

