Take me Back …

Some of your read that line take me back and it brought you back to a favorite vacation, some thought of and missed a lost love, while others thought of their childhood home or grandparents home.

The limbic system supports a variety of functions including emotion, behavior, motivation, long-term memory, and olfaction.  Emotional life is largely housed in the limbic system, and it has a great deal to do with the formation of memories.

Fire & ice designClose your eyes and grab a favorite memory … does that memory have a scent? I am sure it does.  Pretty amazing, isn’t it?  While some scents can make you smile, make you fantasize, make you squirm, others may trigger something that pained you once in your life.  The brain remembers and connects scent to memory … in all of us.

The scent of cars being worked on, the smell of fresh ink (think newspaper) make me think of my Dad.  He worked on cars for a large portion of his life and was a foreman at a large printing company. These scents make me picture his stained finger nails, his rusty colored beard and his round belly.  It allows me to remember his hugs and the sound of his voice. The scents are my Dad. Although there isn’t an oil like this, I have been able to blend a few together that remind me of flannel shirts which again is my Dad.  I love that I have this, especially on the days I miss him the most.  As I type this I smile … and cry.
dad.jpgPatchouli reminds me of my Mother.  When I smell it I can picture her smile & hear her laugh. I think of when I was younger and we used to cook together & how she used to let me help her.  Makes me remember how I used to watch her do her make-up while trying on her shoes and jewelry because I too wanted to look pretty like Mom.

Vetiver now makes me think of my sister, Jessica.  What I love about that is although we talk almost daily, when I diffuse it or smell it, it makes me want to call her even if we just hung up the phone.
jessPine & Cedarwood take me back to being a kid and going to my aunt & uncle’s house for sleepovers.  They own a mailbox company and their basement always smells like fresh cut wood.  During the winter, I can recall a fire always burning in the fire place … the combination of the two is a warm and happy memory .
cindyCinnamon makes me think of my Grandma. Being at her house for the holidays and waiting so patiently for the worlds best french toast to come out of the oven.
gramGentle Baby to me is equivalent to a newborn baby, although it is not the same it is as close as you can get to that new born baby smell.  Lets be honest, this is one of the best scents in the world!
0F1B0124Stress Away makes me think of the beach.  If you know me and my family, you know we live with our toes in the sand. The beach is one place that can always wash away life’s chaos.

This post was inspired by a friend of mine. She recently received Jasime essential oil, when I asked her what she thought of it, her response was PERFECT …

“I love it!  It reminds me of an awesome trip I took with Hubby before kids to Greek Islands and Isle of Capri.  As soon as I smelled it, I was transported back there.” 

I was obviously not on that trip with her but the way she described that memory put me in a state of calmness.
greek.jpgThe Brain … it is a POWERFUL tool we all have.  Using essential oils can help us all deal with emotions that we may want to address such as Loss, Happiness, Forgiveness, Joy, Strength, Empowerment, Calming…

What memories are triggered by scent for you? I would LOVE to here your stories!Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 7.57.19 AM.png

Recommended Essential Oils to help with Memory: Rosemary, Peppermint, Cardamom, Basil, Vetiver, Rose, Lemon, Lemongrass, Helichrysum, Lavender, Rosewood, Tangerine, Spearmint, Idaho Tansy, Palo Santo, Brain Power, Clarity, M-Grain, En-R-Gee, Oola Balnace, Oola Grow.

You can learn more HERE and also by looking this essential oils up in a Reference Guide such as THIS one.


If you would like to learn more about Young Living Essential Oils, you can click HERE or simply message me!

If you are ready to Order your own Premium Starter Kit with Diffuser (which I highly reccomend EVERYONE starts with), click HERE! (Rachelle Gallinger – Member #2934220)


DISCLOSURE: The Statements on this website have not been evaluated by the food and drug administration [FDA]. The products on this site are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. If you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition(s) please consult your physical before using these products. Furthermore, information found on this site is meant for educational and informational purposes only, and to motivate you to make your own health and dietary decisions based upon your own research and partnership with your healthcare provider. See full disclosure HERE.

Leave a Reply

