What I am Gaining by Leaving

peaceful

I am regaining confidence in myself without the need of approval from others. The truth is, no one is/was really looking anyways. Look around, everybody’s face is down in their phone. Drivers, walkers, runners, students, teachers, children, you name it everybody is so busy on their phones that they aren’t paying attention to what is going around them. I was one of them. 

I am becoming a better mother. I play with my child more. I’ve become less annoyed because I’m not getting interrupted while I’m trying to “like” a photo or read a status update. I pay more attention to what my son is doing and I am learning from him. He is less whiny because he has my attention and isn’t craving it.

I am becoming a better friend because I am becoming aware of the people that noticed I was gone and want to be a part of my life. I’m going to be honest, this has and is still surprising me.  Being disconnected has made me reconnect. It’s made me pick up the phone … reach-out and ask my friends “how are you doing?”, because I don’t know the answer because I didn’t see their status update. 

I focus more on my health.  With the free time I now have, I use it to workout instead of sit on the couch and scroll away. Rather it be a walk in the park with my family or actual gym time that I didn’t chick-in to prove I was there. 

I am less annoyed because I don’t have 274 (former friend count) people putting things I don’t want to see in my face every day. I don’t have 274 people complaining about how crappy their day was, how much their significant other pissed them off, how lazy their co-worker is, how shitty their job is.

I am enjoying my meals more, even simple things like oatmeal & water have a new appeal because I haven’t felt the need to take a picture before I smelled it, tasted it … enjoyed it.

I am not an anti-facebooker by any means I am just happy to be on a break! Feels pretty freeing!

Leave a Reply

