Overcoming My Fear, One Crunch at a Time

Most people fear things like spiders, heights, fire, car accidents, etc. Me, I fear the gym!

There is this anxiety that comes over me that seriously causes me to feel physically sick. I want to go, all the time but when it comes to actually walking in the door alone I panic! I’m not sure what causes this anxiety, maybe it’s the fact that I feel like everyone is watching me [I know nobody is], maybe it’s the fear that I will use a machine wrong and look stupid, maybe it’s the fact that I don’t know which machines to use on the same day for it to make sense as a workout.

Whatever it is, I decided yesterday to overcome this fear and just go!

I got ready, got in the car, drove to the gym and as I pulled in the parking-lot realized that the gym was closed because of New Year’s Day. Honestly, there was a big part of me that was relieved. I went home and worked out in my living room.

This morning, I woke up early feeling very ambitious to go to the gym! The next thing I knew, I was stalling and then making up reasons not to go. I found myself canceling my gym membership in my head and had already completed a at-home workout.

My husband said to me “when are you going to the gym?”, this snapped me back into reality… I brushed my teeth, put on my sneakers and once again got ready to go. I did have to take a few deep breaths because I truly felt nauseous.

As I was about to walk out the door my husband handed me a piece paper that read as follows: /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2c8/78451374/files/2015/01/img_4966.jpg I mean seriously?! How cute is that!

I got to the gym, jumped on a treadmill and looked around for 10 minutes, then started my workout … as I completed each rep my confidence grew! After I finished my workout, I can honestly say I felt really great! Not only because I had the after workout glow, but because I conquered a fear of walking in that door.

My goal for 2015 is to tighten my body back up to where it used to be pre-baby. Having a baby changes your body significantly!! I am happy to say that I have lost all my pregnancy weight but my skin is looser than it used to be!/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2c8/78451374/files/2015/01/img_4969.jpg LEFT: the month I found out I was pregnant
RIGHT: 9 months pregnant

Here’s to a healthy 2015!!

One thought on “Overcoming My Fear, One Crunch at a Time

  1. Caronbot says:

    Damn you were she-hulking-it pre baby! Those are some killer proportions.

    My wife is terrified of pregnancy because of the loose skin (among other things). Thankfully for us I’m impotent ha-ha-ha

    Like

Leave a Reply

