Oatmeal Pumpkin Pancakes

So the truth is, I bought a pumpkin at Trader Joe’s because it was cute. I then spent quite a few days on Pinterest looking for the perfect pumpkin recipe. I came across a bunch of pumpkin pancake recipes, none of them seemed to be anything I would eat. Most of them were pretty sweet which I don’t care for. I also wanted to make something that I could feed to my 8 month old son. So I decided to tweak and combine a few recipes that I found and came up with a recipe that my husband, son and I love!!
IMG_3639.JPGKeep in mind, this is not a sweet pumpkin recipe which is intentional. It is meant to be on the healthier side!

Ingredients

1 cup organic pumpkin*
1 and 1/4 cups vanilla soy milk
1 egg
3 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 and 1/2 cups ground organic steel-cut oats*
1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon allspice
coconut oil (for the pan)

Instructions

*PUMPKIN: I took a small whole pumpkin, cut it in half, cleaned out the seeds and guts. Roasted it face down on 400 for 50 minutes. Once it cooled I peeled the skin off and puréed the flesh with my baby bullet.

*GROUND OATMEAL: for the ground oatmeal I poured the oats into my baby bullet and ground until it was flour consistency and then measured.

In a large bowl, combine pumpkin, soy milk, egg and brown sugar. Whisk until well combined, and the mixture is of even consistency.

In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg – mix well to combine.

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and whisk until just combined.

Heat up a pan to medium heat, add a little coconut oil. Use 1/4 measuring cup to ladle each pancake on the griddle. Cook until golden brown, flip to the other side, and cook until golden brown on the other side.

I make extras, let them cool on parchment paper and then refrigerate or freeze for a quick breakfast!
IMG_3641.JPGHere is my favorite little tester, approving my creation!
IMG_3640.JPG

Leave a Reply

